Isle of Man and one overseas territory win city status for Queen's Platinum Jubilee

Mark Battersby
clock • 2 min read

Eight new cities are being created for the Queen's Platinum Jubilee, with at least one in every UK nation - and on the Falkland Islands and Isle of Man. Stanley, in the Falklands islands, and the crown dependency's Douglas, in the Isle of Man win city status following this latest jubilee's decision to allow Crown Dependencies and Overseas Territories to apply for the first time.  Milton Keynes, Colchester and Doncaster in England, Dunfermline in Scotland, Bangor in Northern Ireland and Wrexham in Wales all get the title. Applicants had to show their cultural heritage and royal link...

To continue reading this article...

Join International Investment

Join International Investment today

Unlock members-only benefits:

  • Unlimited access to real-time news, industry insights, video features and market intelligence
  • Stay ahead of the curve with spotlights on international financial centres, regional trends international advice and global industry leaders
  • Receive breaking news stories straight to your inbox in the daily newsletters
  • Hear the latest cross jurisdictional developments in wealth planning, tax, regulation, investing, retirement and protection
  • Members-only access to the Editor’s weekly news roundup newsletter
  • Members-only access to analysis via our exclusive industry polls
  • Be the first to hear about our events and awards programmes

Join now


Already a International Investment member?