UPDATED: EU removes Cayman Islands from blacklist and adds Barbados

clock • 2 min read

The European Union (EU) announced this morning it is adding Anguilla and Barbados to its blacklist of tax havens. The Cayman Islands and Oman were removed. The renowned list was established in 2017 and now consists of 12 jurisdictions: American Samoa, Anguilla, Barbados, Fiji, Guam, Palau, Panama, Samoa, Seychelles, Trinidad and Tobago, the U.S. Virgin Islands and Vanuatu. The Cayman Islands and Oman were considered by the EU finance ministers to have passed and implemented the necessary reforms.  Blacklisted jurisdictions face higher scrutiny, loss of access to EU funds and damage...

To continue reading this article...

Join International Investment

Join International Investment today

Unlock members-only benefits:

  • Unlimited access to real-time news, industry insights, video features and market intelligence
  • Stay ahead of the curve with spotlights on international financial centres, regional trends international advice and global industry leaders
  • Receive breaking news stories straight to your inbox in the daily newsletters
  • Hear the latest cross jurisdictional developments in wealth planning, tax, regulation, investing, retirement and protection
  • Members-only access to the Editor’s weekly news roundup newsletter
  • Members-only access to analysis via our exclusive industry polls
  • Be the first to hear about our events and awards programmes

Join now


Already a International Investment member?


Author spotlight

Christopher Copper-Ind

Christopher Copper-Ind is editor-in-chief of International Investment. Before this, he was editorial director of The Business Year, from 2014 to 2017.