SGKB announces changes to board of directors

Ridhima Sharma
SGKB announces changes to board of directors

St Galler Kantonalbank's (SGKB) president of the Board of Directors, Thomas Gutzwiller, will leave after having a maximum statutory term of 15 years in 2021.

The Board of Directors have nominated the current CEO, Roland Ledergerber, as his successor at the 2021 Annual General Meeting. In May 2021 Ledergerber will step down as CEO. 

In order to ensure a smooth transition, Gutzwiller will stand at the 2021 General Meeting for another year as president of the Board of Directors. The Board of Directors thanks Gutzwiller for his willingness to extend his mandate by one year.

Ledergerber has worked for St.Galler Kantonalbank for 21 years and on the management board for 18 years. During this time, he significantly shaped the successful development of SGKB. 

Hans-Jürg Bernet will also step down from the Board of Directors due to the statutory age limit of 70 at the 2020 Annual General Meeting. He has been a member of the Board of Directors since 2007 and vice chairman since 2013. He also chairs the board of trustees of the pension fund of SGKB. No new board member will be proposed to the general assembly for election, so that the board of directors will consist of eight people by the 2021 general assembly.

Due to the election to the Council of States at the end of the legislative period in May 2020, Benedikt Würth will also resign from the board of directors of SGKB, of which he has been a member since 2016.