AXA IM offers fintech exposure with cross-border fund launch

AXA IM offers fintech exposure with cross-border fund launch

AXA Investment Managers is looking to increase fintech exposure with the launch of cross-border fund. Managed by Vincent Vinatier, Luxembourg-domiciled fund has been launched on the back of successful fundraising in Japan where the strategy has seen inflows of nearly $1bn.

This follows the rebrand and shift in investment focus of the existing UK-domiciled AXA Framlington financials fund, which was renamed the AXA Framlington fintech fund.

AXA WF Framlington fintech fund aims to invest globally in a concentrated portfolio of 40-60 companies expected to have high growth potential across three key themes which offer opportunities across the entire fintech value chain: 

  • Cashless society - People around the world are increasingly making payments digitally, taking us towards a cashless society.
  • Innovative leaders - Many established financial companies are disrupting the financial services industry, by using technology to serve their large, existing client base.
  • Technology enablers - ‘Enablers' provide the crucial technology to support and develop fintech companies' digital presence via various channels and devices e.g. cyber security and regulatory technology (RegTech)

Vincent Vinatier, manager of the AXA WF Framlington FinTech fund commented: "With the fintech fund, we aim to capture the performance of this expanding global fintech market by investing in a concentrated portfolio of companies expected to have high-growth potential, which apply technological innovations to disrupt and improve the delivery of financial services."

The fund forms part of the "Evolving Economy" fund range which is comprised of five key themes: Automation, the Connected Consumer, Ageing and Lifestyle, Cleantech, and Transitioning Societies, which AXA IM believes will shape the way companies operate in future.

It is registered and available to professional investors in the UK, Austria, Germany, France, the Netherlands, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Italy, Sweden, Norway, Spain, Portugal and Liechtenstein. 

This article was first pubished by InvestmentEurope.