Bank Degroof and Petercam complete merger


Belgian managers Bank Degroof and Petercam have completed their merger.

The new Bank Degroof Petercam is headquartered in Brussels and employs 1 400 professionals through offices in Belgium, Luxemburg, France, Spain, Switzerland, The Netherlands, Germany, Italy and Hong Kong.

It manages over €50bn in assets under management.

The shareholdership is composed as follows: ca 70 % in hands of the families and reference shareholders (Families Philippson, Peterbroeck, Van Campenhout, Haegelsteen, Schockert, Siaens and CLdN Finance and Cobepa). The balance is held by the management and staff, the financial partners and other shareholders.

The first Board of directors chaired by Alain Philippson on 1 October 2015 will validate the composition of the managing and governing bodies. The group management is organised as follows:

Group Executive Committee (GEC)

The GEC bears ultimate responsibility before the Board of Directors for all the group’s activities. It is composed as follows: Philippe Masset (CEO), Xavier Van Campenhout (Deputy CEO and Private Banking), Nathalie Basyn (CFO), Gautier Bataille (Capital Markets), Bruno Colmant (Macro Research/senior advisor – as of 15 October 2015), Gilles Firmin (CRO), Jan Longeval (Institutional Asset Management), Pascal Nyckees (COO).

Group Management Committee (GMC) and International Network Committee (INC)

The GMC is the main day-to-day management body of the group responsible for the development of the group’s activities under the responsibility of the GEC.

It is composed of the members of the GEC, as well as of: Benoît Daenen (Private Banking), Hugo Lasat (Institutional Asset Management), Alexis Meeùs (Corporate Finance), Pierre Pepersack (Credit), Jean-Marc Verbist (HR), Erik Verkest (Corporate Finance), Jean-Louis Waucquez (Estate Planning).

The GMC will closely work with the INC that gathers the CEOs from the different foreign subsidiary banks and is composed of: Geert De Bruyne (Luxembourg), François Wohrer (France), Guillermo Viladomíu (Spain), Cédric Roland-Gosselin (Switzerland).

Board of directors

Alain Philippson (chairman), Ludwig Criel (independent director), Jean-Baptiste de Franssu, Miguel del Marmol, Christian Jacobs (independent director), Jean-Marie Laurent Josi, Véronique Peterbroeck, Jacques-Martin Philippson, Alain Schockert, Frank van Bellingen.

Philippe Masset, CEO Bank Degroof Petercam said : “Today, we finalise a tremendous journey that started with the signature of our letter of intent in January. In less than 10 months, our teams managed to complete the due diligence, the merger agreement, the approval process by the authorities as well as the integration of our people. I would like to thank them all for the remarkable work and look forward to build our new group based on our independent, long term and human culture.”

Xavier Van Campenhout, deputy CEO Bank Degroof Petercam, added : “This also marks the beginning of an exciting journey. We can now officially start integrating our offering at the service of our clients. They will benefit from in-depth yet more diversified expertise in our four core activities. Our family-rooted foundation thereby guarantees our independence, stable and sustainable services, as well as open mind towards the future.”


More on