DZ Bank appoints new chairman of supervisory board

clock • 1 min read

DZ BANK AG’s supervisory board has elected Henning Deneke-Jöhrens as its new chairman. He replaces Helmut Gottschalk, who is leaving the board after fifteen years due to the age limit imposed by the Articles of Association.

Gottschalk, the long-standing spokesman of the board of managing directors of Volksbank Herrenberg-Nagold-Rottenburg eG, was chairman of the supervisory board of DZ BANK from 2010.

Henning Deneke-Jöhrens, chief executive officer of Volksbank eG Hildesheim-Lehrte-Pattensen, has been a member of DZ BANK’s supervisory board since 2006. Deneke-Jöhrens is very well-connected within the cooperative financial network. He is a member of the administrative board of the National Association of German Cooperative Banks (BVR).

Besides Helmut Gottschalk, Werner Böhnke, who has been second deputy chairman of DZ BANK’s Supervisory Board since 2016, is also leaving the board. His successor is Martin Eul, chief executive officer of Dortmunder Volksbank eG.