JFSC appoints two new Commissioners

Pedro Gonçalves
JFSC appoints two new Commissioners

Jersey’s financial regulator has appointed as new Comissioners the former Financial Secretary to the UK treasury, Mark Hoban, and Monique O’Keefe, co-founder of an investment consultancy business.

Both have been sworn into their Jersey Financial Services Commission (JFSC) roles and will officially start on 1 December – their terms will last five years.

Subject to the Board’s approval and recommendation to the Chief Minister, Hoban could hold the role of chairman from April 2020.

A former Conservative MP, Mark Hoban served as Financial Secretary to the UK Treasury, where he
had responsibility for financial services policy. He also led the coalition government’s work on the
post crisis reforms to financial regulation.

O’Keefe has 20 years’ experience in finance and law. Prior to moving to Jersey, she specialised in structuring complex financing deals for international investment banks in London and New York, most recently at Goldman Sachs.

She has experience working with a variety of organisations spanning government, international investment banks, sovereign wealth funds, major financial institutions and international businesses.

“Mark and Monique bring a wealth of financial services experience and professional expertise to the Board which complements the skillsets of our existing Commissioners.

“We look forward to working alongside them to achieve our objectives; delivering a first-class public service to both Industry and Jersey, whilst playing our part in building a financial services environment that is flexible and forward-looking,” JFSC chairman Lord Eatwell said in a statement.

Hoban added: “This is a challenging time for financial services, with changing global regulation and a competitive landscape, and I am keen to play my part in helping Jersey maintain its position as a high quality financial centre.”

Mr O’Keefe said: “I am looking forward to working with everyone at the JFSC to contribute to Jersey’s reputation as a leading international financecentre.”

Hoban and O’Keefe will replace deputy chairman Debbie Prosser and Michael de le Haye, who are retiring before the end of the year.

More on