Fund Manager of the Year Awards 2017/18 - winners revealed

Jonathan Boyd
Fund Manager of the Year Awards 2017/18 - winners revealed

Schroders and Evli Fund Management Company came away as Group category winners at the Fund Manager of the Year Awards 2017/18, announced on the afternoon of 30 November in London.

The Awards, part of International Investment’s sister title InvestmentEurope’s events series, which this year took place at The Andaz Hotel in the City, celebrate not only the funds and groups that make up the asset management industry, and which are active in the key European markets served by InvestmentEurope, but also highlight fund selectors recognised by peers.

Hermes and Edmond de Rothschild also stood out as winners and highly commendeds were announced across 18 product categories, as well as the Specialist Group of the Year, Group of the Year, and Personalities of the Year.

The Awards utilise a methodology involving a quants screening (provided by Thomson Reuters Lipper), to reach shortlists for categories of funds, which are then subject to a qualitative assessment (performed using the SharingAlpha platform) to arrive at the winners.

A similar process – combining performance scores of fund selectors via the SharingAlpha platform alongside factors such as peer nominations, length of service in the industry and AUM responsibilities – was used to identify this year’s Personality Awards.

Full details of all the winners will be included in a special supplement attached to the upcoming issue of the InvestmentEurope magazine.

Winner Comgest Growth Europe Opps
Highly Commended BSF European Opportunities Extension
North America
Winner Edmond de Rothschild US Growth
Highly Commended Morgan Stanley US Growth
Winner Pictet-Digital
Highly Commended Morgan Stanley Global Opportunity
Global Emerging Markets
Winner Hermes Global Emerging Markets
Highly Commended UBS Global Emerging Markets Opportunity.
Winner Charlemagne / Fiera Magna New Frontiers fund
Highly Commended Schroder ISF Emerging Europe
Single Country
Winner DWS Aktien Strategie Deutschland
Highly Commended Kotak Funds-India Midcap Fund
Asia Pacific
Winner Fidelity FAST Asia
Highly Commended Fidelity Funds – Asian Special Situations.
Winner Tokio Marine Japanese Equity Focus
Highly Commended JPM Japan Equity
Fixed Income
Corporate Bonds
Winner Allianz Corps-Corent
Highly Commended Schroder ISF EURO Corporate Bond
High Yield
Winner Nordea 1 – European High Yield Bond Fund II
Highly Commended Schroder ISF EURO High Yield
Global Bonds
Winner Hermes Multi Strategy Credit
Highly Commended Flossbach von Storch – Bond Opportunities
Emerging Market Debt
Winner BGF Emerging Markets Bond
Highly Commended Edmond de Rothschild Fund-Emerging Bonds
Convertible Bonds
Winner UBS (Lux) Institutional Fund – Global Convertible Bonds
Highly Commended M&G Global Convertibles
Money Market/Short Term Bonds
Winner AZ Fund 1 Cash 12 Mesi
Winner Kempen Orange Investment Partnership
Highly Commended Pictet Alternative Funds-Pleiad Credit Opps
Real Estate
Winner AXA Aedificandi AD
Highly Commended DPAM INVEST B Real Estate Europe
Winner Investec GSF Global Gold
Highly Commended BGF World Gold
Winner Lyxor Nasdaq-100 UCITS ETF
Highly Commended Amundi ETF Nasdaq-100 UCITS ETF
Specialist Group of the Year Evli Fund Management Company
Group of the Year Schroders
Personality of the Year
Benelux Dieter Vandewiele, Deutsche Bank
France Romain Gaugry, ODDO BHF Asset Management
Germany Jörg Schmidt, Union Investment
Iberia Pablo Nortes, Willis Towers Watson
Italy Filippo Valvona, Amundi Asset Management.
Nordics Mia Söderberg, IKC Capital
Switzerland Albulen Kastrati, Julius Baer
UK David Saab, J.P. Morgan
Overall Personality of the Year Filippo Valvona, Amundi Asset Management.

Jonathan Boyd
Author spotlight

Jonathan Boyd

Editorial Director of Open Door Media Publishing Ltd, and Editor of InvestmentEurope.

More on